Book Review

I Want Gelato. Now.

Love & GelatoLove & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was the first contemporary novel I’ve read this year, and I absolutely enjoyed it.

Although Love & Gelato was marketed as a love story, I found the romance between Lina and Ren to be nearly insignificant next to the novel’s overall premise: A girl desperately trying to cope with the sudden loss of her beloved (and frustratingly secretive) mother.

In its totality, this book earned a spot in my favorites shelf because it entertainingly delineated the importance of love, honesty, and perseverance. And if I must say so, I am all over stories set in Europe.

P.S. I had a brief correspondence with the author on Goodreads, and I was touched by her modesty and sincerity. I can hardly wait for her to release a new book!

Standard

Leave a Reply

