Book Review

When Stories Are Beautifully Short

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic NovelMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After two pathetic attempts to finish the actual novelized form of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I finally decided to read its graphic novel.

I’m sorry to be so blunt, but the novel was downright boring and dragging compared to this mixture of wonderful illustrations and direct-to-the-point dialogues. Even though I was sometimes confused by the sudden and rushed flow of the plot (i.e. Jacob and Emma’s romantic relationship was rendered so INSTANT by the text’s format), I still had a great reading experience. The pictures and drawings were so vibrant and vividly detailed that I kept on rereading pages just to fully appreciate their beauty.

When I come to think of it, the only major problem I encountered was the slightly overrated nature of the plot. My bookish friends were right when they told me that the story was basically a darkened version of X-Men. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the overall quality of the graphic novel, and I look forward to purchasing its sequel.

Standard

4 thoughts on “When Stories Are Beautifully Short

Leave a Reply

