Book Review

Liar, Liar Gown on Fire

The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy, #2)The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Warning: Mild Spoilers Ahead

Were all her lies to Arin worth it, if she couldn’t see the truth? Kestrel had thought she’d known what was best for Arin. Perhaps her greatest lies were the ones she’d told to herself.

This is the most achingly frustrating novel I have read in my entire bookish life! I’m literally bursting with angst right now. Gah, I know it’s stupid to say this, but I wish Kestrel and Arin had smartphones! That way, no one could have intercepted that carelessly written letter, and the collateral damage would have been much less! Ugh. This is the first time I’m excessively using exclamation points in my review. Why oh why did Kestrel have to be such a talented liar? And why did Arin have to be so gullible? I need a copy of The Winner’s Kiss ASAP. Like right now!

I basically had a love-hate relationship with this book. I was once again enthralled by Marie Rutkoski’s elegant writing style, particularly by her otherworldly use of metaphors. Also, I loved the expansion of the world/setting. I do hope I get to see more of the mysterious Eastern Empire in the next book. However, it was the characters that inevitably drew out my hatred. I really didn’t know whom I should blame for what had happened. Kestrel was logically at fault. But so was Arin. Gah, and let’s not forget that darn “minister of agriculture.” GRRRRRRR! Everything perfectly came together to make such a beautiful yet painful ending.

Ultimately, The Winner’s Crime is a gut wrenching novel about the inevitable consequences of lying. The misunderstandings between Kestrel and Arin will stay in my brain for a very long time. Kudos to the author for giving me an abundance of feels, as unhealthy as they are.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Liar, Liar Gown on Fire

      • The author clearly did a lot of research when writing the final book. It was in my top 5 of last year. The Winner’s Crime was good, better than The Winner’s Curse, but man… I really hope you like The Winner’s Kiss as much as I did.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I peeked at the Acknowledgements and saw that she was inspired by Edward Said, a scholar of Post-Colonialism. I studied literary criticism back in college, so I was very happy to find a kindred spirit in Marie. The conflict between the West and the East is clearly inspired by Said’s discourse. 😀 Thanks, Caitlin! ^^

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: January 2017 | Highlit

Leave a Reply

