Book Review

An Enormous Fortune of Misery

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The really frightening thing about Olaf, she realized, was that he was very smart after all. He wasn’t merely an unsavory drunken brute, but an unsavory, clever drunken brute.

Rereading this after ten years was so nostalgic. Like most people, I was inspired to pick up this series once again because of Netflix. I just watched the episode eight (The Miserable Mill Part II) last night, and I can hardly wait for the next season.

I have nothing but praise for this book, objectivity be damned. Lemony Snicket’s work played a significant part into making me a bookworm. When I was 13, I immediately aspired to be like Klaus Baudelaire, the epitome of the adjective “bookish”. Until now, I dream to have a private library that would rival the one in the Baudelaire mansion, before it was destroyed. (For reference, watch the 2004 movie.) Of course, I have always been very fond of Violet and Sunny, though I admit that I am helplessly biased towards their brother. As for Count Olaf and his minions, I am simultaneously amazed and repulsed by their villainy.

It is only now that I am an adult that I fully appreciate the author’s writing style. It’s so funny how he utilizes the second person POV to produce an effect of reverse psychology. He keeps on encouraging his readers to put down (or DNF) the book, but it only makes me more invested in the story. I am also amused by his brief definitions of words that might be unfamiliar to children. In totality, Lemony Snicket’s (Daniel Handler’s) writing style is an utter delight.

Overall, A Series of Unfortunate Events is one of my favorite series of all time. I am excited to reread the next 12 novels, but I plan to take it slowly because I don’t want to be depressed. Let’s face it. Marathoning sad stories is not healthy. xD

*The featured image was contributed by Dessa Mae Jacobe (@dessatopia)

Standard

Leave a Reply

